Memories

 

Image result for memories gif

The time you confessed your love towards me, I still remember how nervous you were,

Those warm greetings,

That first time we hung out, and you kept fidgeting to hold my hand in yours,

That first time your hand interlocked in my hand,

Those tight hugs where you would pull me deep into your chest  towards yourself,

That first kiss, when you lifted my face up towards you, and interlocked your lips with mine,

That compassion you would show towards me,

The way you would be so protective about me,

Those endless conversations, till 3am,

But that one mistake that ruined it all,

That day you cheated,

You didn’t respect me,

You didn’t respect that I wasn’t ready,

Ready for the next step,

I remember how hard it was to let go of something that was so special to me,

Special to us,

The regret showed on your face as the tears rolled down your fair soft cheeks,

But it was too late,

I had to let go,

We both had to let go of something so special to our hearts,

Now all that was left were those memories that still haven’t faded away,

Memories,

It’s all we’ve got.


This poem was inspired by one of the class acts we watched Drama 30 perform, the act didn’t not have a title, because it was one of the seven silence acts. The act was about a love story and how things progressed from there. I was inspired by the innocence that was portrayed by the two leads through their body language in the act. Although my poem goes on a deeper level of emotions, and has a completely different ending. My main base starting point was, because of the inspiration I had received from the class act. Through this poem I also tired to portray how something so special can be shattered within seconds, and all that is left are memories that cannot be deleted from one. This is why memories are identified as such an significant part of most individuals. To every person a memory can be mean a different thing, and so much which cannot be explained in words.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *